Conditional Sentences

Conditional sentence is an expression that is used to express factual implication situation and their consequences. Actually, conditional sentences or conditional clauses consists of two clauses , they are

the clause that explains the condition and the consequence.

there are 3 types of Conditional sentences

 

# Conditional Sentence Type 1

It is explaining a possible condition that can happen or possible an event that is likely to occur

if +simple Present tense, Simple Future tense

example : If I have money, I will buy a car

Fact/ possibility :   I have money so I buy a car

another examples of Conditional Sentence Type 1

  • If I meet her, I will ask about her problem
  • If she has good mark, she will continue her study in Australia
  • If my father gives me more money, I will buy a guitar
  • If my friend comes to the house, we will make our assignment

 

#Conditional Sentence Type II

The type II explains about an event that is less likely to happen/ occur.

if + Simple past, Simple past tense

example : If i had much money, I would buy a car

fact          : I don’t have money, so I don’t buy a car

another examples of Conditional Sentence Type II

  • If I were you, I would be very sad (all subject uses were)
  • If I met her, I would ask about her problem
  • If my sister had a guitar, we would play in the party

#Conditional Sentence Type III

The last type of conditional clause explains an event that is impossible to occur because it refers to the past event.

If + had +V3, Would+ have + v3

example : If we had missed the train , we would have been late for school

fact          : we didn’t miss the train, so were not late for school

 

another examples of Conditional Sentence Type III

  •   If I had had breakfast this morning, we wouldn’t have  been hungry

 

Leave a Reply

