Elliptical Construction

Elliptical construction is combination from two sentences with different subject but have the same verb or complement

1. Too

we use the word too in positive sentence: it is usually put in the last sentence

( Subject + auxiliary + too)

example   : – I am a student and Mita is too

– John works in the hotel and I do too

 

2. So

so is also used in positive sentence, but it is put in the front of the sentence

(so+ auxiliary+ Subject)

example  : – Mita is a student and so am I

– John works in the hotel and so do I

 

3. Either

It is used in negative sentence, and it is put at the end of the sentence

(subject + auxiliary + not either)

example    : – John is not a students of Mahasaraswati university and I am not either

– My sister doesn’t like math and I don’t either

 

4. Neither

It is used in negative sentence and put in the front of the sentence

(neither+ auxiliary+subject)

example : – Tata didn’t go to cinema last night and neither did I

– My father doesn’t like banana but neither do I

 

 

( Subject + auxiliary + too)

Leave a Reply

